• ABOUT US

    What is Co-operative Education?
    Co-operative Education is a philosophy of learning that promotes the concept of enhanced learning based on a triad partnership between an educational institution, a host employer and a student.


    What we do
    Provide leadership in Work Integrated Learning (WIL) implementation.
    Support Student Work Readiness skills development.
    Provide student work placement support through:

    • Building strategic relationships with Host Employers.
    • Working with WIL Coordinators in the engagement with host employers to negotiate placement opportunities.
    • Facilitating student interviews.
    • Facilitating student inductions.
    • Facilitating Pre-placement Site Visits (on request).
    • Leveraging SETA grants to create placement opportunities.

    Manage Work Integrated Learning information.
    Facilitate and overseer student WIL monitoring and visitation.


    Our Vision:
    To provide an efficient and effective Work Based Learning service to all our stakeholders.


    Our Mission:
    To enhance the value and quality of Co-operative Education by the promotion of high quality best practices and procedures that will produce a community of skilled workers who are productive and innovative.

  • WIL (WORK INTEGRATED LEARNING)

    What is WIL and how does it work?
    Work-Integrated Learning (WIL) is a methodology of curriculum design that integrates academic learning with industry-based/or community-based experiential learning that is structured, monitored and assessed to meet the outcomes of a learning programme.


    WIL at MUT comprises of 2 phases:

    1. Work Readiness phase – Students are required to attend a 15- week Work Readiness program in preparation for their transition from campus to the work place.
    2. Work-based Learning phase – Students spend 3 to 12 months in the workplace (depending on the academic requirements of their qualification) under the mentorship of a WIL Coordinator as well as a workplace supervisor.

    How does a student benefits from WIL?

    • This is the student’s opportunity to integrate their learning with real-life work situations.
    • During this period, students have an opportunity to demonstrate their abilities to potential future employers.
    • Presented with challenging tasks, students are able to develop to their highest potential.
    • Work experience is often the determining factor in whether or not new graduates find employment. MUT students, through Co-operative Education, often have the work experience at completion of their academic studies.

    How do host employers benefit from WIL?

    • The periods of work integrated learning and work equip the student with pre-qualification experience, thus enabling employers the opportunity to recruit work-ready graduates for their industry.
    • Students who respond well to the work environment can be retained as full-time employees on completion of their training periods.
    • Each discipline has an Advisory Committee. Employers of our students have the opportunity to be members of these committees which communicate the needs of industry to the institution. Through membership in these committees, industry helps to shape the training that the students receive at the institution.
    • Newly graduates enter in the working environment with limited skills and ideas of what is expected from them by the employers, which is costly for the employer. Work integrated learning assist students in gaining the necessary skills and ideas required in the workplace in order to decrease the unnecessary cost that might affect the profit and revenue of the industry.
  • WIL Co-coordinators

    Faculty of Engineering

    Initials and Surname Department Telephone no: Email Address
    Mrs T.P. Makhathini Chemical Engineering 031-907 7141 Thobeka@mut.ac.za
    Ms M. Munsamy Chemical Engineering 031-907 7240 Munsamy@mut.ac.za
    Mr J. Zvidzayi Mechanical Engineering 031-907 7387 Johnz@mut.ac.za
    Prof Landman Surveying 031-907 7308 landman@mut.ac.za
    Mr K. Padayachee Construction Management and Surveying 031-907 7305 karan@mut.ac.za
    Ms R. Dulu Construction Management and Surveying 031-907 7139 dulur@mut.ac.za
    Mr R. Mpontshana Electrical Engineering 031-907 7226 ray@mut.ac.za
    Mr P.J Kotze Mechanical Engineering 031-907 7229 Philip@mut.ac.za

     

    Faculty of Natural Sciences 

    Mr K. Molomo Agriculture 031-907 7658 Karabo@mut.ac.za
    Dr F. Murungu Agriculture 031-907 7673 Farayi@mut.aca.za
    Mr T.F Zwane Analytical Chemistry 031-907 7425 Thabo@mut.ac.za
    Mr N. Nsele Biomedical Science 031-907 7434 Nsele@mut.ac.za
    Mr M. Lecheko Environmental Health 031-907 7659 lecheko@mut.ac.za
    Mr B. Mutanga ICT 031-907 7230 mutanga@mut.ac.za

    Faculty of Management Sciences

    Mrs V. Moodley Office Management and Technology 031-907 7268 vmoodley@mut.ac.za
    Mr M.V.M. Ndlovu Marketing 031-907 7267 Mphathi@mut.ac.za
    Ms J. Ngcobo Public Administration 031-907 7253 fanyana@mut.ac.za
  • CONTACT US
         
    Mrs Zama Hlubi
    Job placement officer
    Tel: 031-9077241
    Email: zamah@mut.ac.za
    Ms Lindiwe Myende
    Secretary
    Tel: 031-907 7115
    Email: lmyende@mut.ac.za
    Mr Thulasizwe Gumbi
    Tel: 031-819 9295
    Email: thulasi@mut.ac.za

Ms Fundiswa Nofemela
Director
Tel: 031-9077115
Email: nofemela@mut.ac.za


Gallery