New MUT SRC president identifies four pillars of focus for his administration

SRC President, Vusimuzi Mthethwa

The new Student Representative Council (SRC) President, Vusimuzi Mthethwa, said at the inauguration of the 2022-2023 SRC on 7 October 2022 at the Council Chambers at Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT), that his administration will be guided “mainly by  four pillars…policy work, campus work, internationalism and community work”.

He explained that this  was based on his observation that every leadership structure had its own approach and that his administration’s approach was meant to serve students holistically.

The inauguration of the SRC comes after the South African Students Congress (SASCO) won the majority of seats during the SRC elections held at MUT on 29 September 2022. SASCO won 2604 votes, which equates to five seats, while the Economic Freedom Fighters Student Command (EFFSC) managed to gain 1867 votes (four seats). The EFFSC candidate won the previous two elections. The other two seats went to Siyabonga Luthuli and Mthethwa, who were independent candidates. The African Christian Democratic Students’ Movement (ACDSM) and South African Democratic Students’ Movement (SADESMO) could not secure a seat.