MUT hosts CoE awards to celebrate excellence in Umlazi schools

12 March 2020

Press release for immediate release

MUT hosts CoE awards to celebrate excellence in Umlazi schools

Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT) will host this year’s instalment of the Circle of Excellence (CoE) awards to recognise top performing schools in Umlazi Township on Friday, 13 March 2020 at 18h00. The CoE is part of MUT’s anchor strategy aimed at developing the community of Umlazi where it is located.

In its 7th year, the CoE has been instrumental in foregrounding the spirit of competition and excellent achievement among schools in the Umlazi district which has in turn motivated schools to perform better in their matric results.

“We are proud to be offering the Circle of Excellence awards for the 7th time this year. It is encouraging to see that our Township schools have embraced the spirit of competition in pursuit of excellence,” said Zama Sishi, Director: Stakeholder Relations and Management at MUT. “Although Menzi High School has been leading the pack over the years, the competition that the CoE has foregrounded spurred Velabahleke High School, Ndukwenhle High School into second and third position respectively.”

Further than encouraging schools to perform better, the CoE has also provided a platform where principals and teachers could network with each other and share best practices.  This platform has also seen top performing schools mentor their least performing counterparts in their mission for excellence. These schools continue to improve their performance annually.

The CoE will recognise exemplary performance in Accounting, English, Mathematics and Physical Science. Last year, Menzi High School dominated the awards getting first prize in Accounting and Physical Science, while KwaMathanda High School came up top on Mathematics. The schools that achieved 100% pass in English First Additional Language are Enaleni High School, KwaMgaga High School, Menzi High School, Mafumbuka High School, Mason Lincoln School, Shumayela High School, Velabahleke High School, Vukuzakahe High School and Zwelibanzi High School.

The CoE also awards the Most Improved School, Overall Winning Schools, and other special awards. Mason Lincoln, a school for learners with disabilities received a certificate, 10 dictionaries (sponsored by Iqraa Trust) and a R2000 Makro Voucher for being the most improved school in 2018.

“We are hoping to see new schools claim their rightful place as we make the Circle of Excellence bigger. It is the University’s belief that in future we will get more schools challenging Menzi High school for the overall prize. The CoE has already inspired many schools to improve their performance,” said Sishi.

The CoE awards will be hosted at the Hilton Hotel, Durban, on Friday, 13 March at 18h00. The media is encouraged to contact Bheki Hlophe (031 819 7195 or to arrange interviews with this year’s winners and to attend the event.