MUT academic selected to be part of the Future Professors Programme

Dr Mvuyana

The Acting Head of the Department of Public Administration and Economics at Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT), Dr Bongekile Yvonne Charlotte Mvuyana, has been selected to take part in the 2021/2022 Future Professors Programme (FPP) Phase 2 Cohort 1.

Dr Blade Nzimande, Minister of Higher Education and Innovation, communicated the good news to the Acting Vice-Chancellor & Principal of MUT, Professor Marcus Ramogale recently.

“I trust that she will take full advantage of the opportunity that has been afforded to her and I look forward to the contribution she will make as a leading academic in higher education in South Africa and beyond,” said Dr Nzimande in a letter. “I also encourage the university to support her fully to ensure her successful completion of the programme.”

Reacting to the good news, Dr Mvuyana said she was thrilled to have been chosen.

“I am over the moon. The programme is going to open new doors for me. I did not see myself being part of this elite future professors programme funded by Department of Higher Education and Training. Only 29 candidates from 26 universities in South Africa were nominated,” said Dr Mvuyana.

Dr Mvuyana also expressed her ‘deep’ commitment to the pursuit of the advancement of the scholarship of teaching and learning, research and innovation, and community development.

The Future Professors Programme starts in November 2021.