EFFSC wins SRC elections at MUT

Press release statement

Submitted by: The Department of Marketing and Communications

Via email: Hlophe@mut.ac.za


                                                                                                          10 February 2022


EFFSC wins SRC elections at MUT

The Economic Freedom Fighter Student Command (EFFSC) will continue leading the Student Representative Council (SRC) after emerging victorious during the elections held on 25 November 2021 at Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT).

The EFFSC obtained 2 613 votes, which gave it five seats, followed by the South African Student Congress (SASCO) with four seats from the 2 582 votes. The remaining two seats went to independent candidates, Nqobile Ndlovu and Simanga Khumalo.

The delay in publicizing the final election results and inaugurating the new SRC was due to student formations raising objections against the preliminary results.

“Following allegations of irregularities and anomalies made by some student formations in respect of the SRC elections that were held on 25 November 2021, the University appointed an external auditing firm to look into these allegations,” said Professor Marcus Ramogale, Acting Vice-Chancellor & Principal of MUT, in an announcement to the university community. “The auditors recommend several improvements for the future but have arrived at the conclusion that “the University followed all due processes in compliance with the SRC Electoral Policy, SRC Constitution and the SRC Elections 2021 Code of Conduct”.”

The original results were upheld after the investigators gave the process a thumbs up in a report tabled at the Executive Management Committee of MUT yesterday.

The announcement of the SRC results comes just in time for MUT registration, which is scheduled for 14-18 February (for news students) and 21-25 February 2022 (for returning students).

Dr Mthoko Ntuli, the Student Development Officer in the Department of Students affairs, said the new SRC would be inaugurated on 11 February 2022.