EFFSC wins 2020 SRC elections

A student voting

EFF Student Command has emerged as winners in the highly contested 2020 SRC elections held on 3 December 2020. The EFFSC unseated SASCO by obtaining 2733 votes, while SASCO obtained 2524 votes. By obtaining the majority of the votes, the Student Command got five seats out of the 11 seats. SASCO got four seats. The other two seats went Khalipha Dlamini and Mthokozosi Gumede, both are independent candidates. The total number of votes cast was 5948. The results can be challenged within 48 hours. The final results will be announced after this period. The inauguration of the new SRC will be on 15 December 2020.